Screen shot 2009-10-29 at 7.11.40 PM

Several months ago, I was joking with my wife about the Seeker-Sensitive Purpose Driven Church for the Carnal Nature of Mankind getting into the wrestling business to lure people in since it is relevant and cool. I see that my jesting was not a joke any longer. It’s really disturbing how these carnal pastors will use anything to whore the church to the world.

It’s all a part of being a “mission-driven” church, the pastor says. You can justify nearly anything as outreach in churches these days, but there is no biblical precedent in the book of Acts or anywhere else for Christian churches sponsoring freak shows to draw in warm bodies or to raise mission funds. The Apostles knew that the only effective drawing would be done by the Holy Spirit. Fleshy means may draw a crowd, but once they’ve been attracted to a circus, you have to keep the three rings active with even more enticing shows to keep the audience. When the Holy Spirit draws and converts, those who come are hungry for the preaching and teaching of the Word of God—the only thing that will change their hearts and lives.

Turning the church into some tawdry theater or arena for sports will only draw further scorn from a world already jaded from non-stop entertainment.

Here is a link to the featured wrestlers at Crossroads Christian Church.(source)

Comments
  1. Acidri says:

    Ah, There again. With our modern attempts…. i just hope the apostle paul didn’t turn in his grave. If he were to write to my generaton of christians i hope he wouldnt begin it theway he started the third chapter of Galatians….Oh Foolish Galatians!
    Feel free to check on my blog…leave a comment. Cast a stone or write in the sand.
    https://7drizzles7.wordpress.com/

  2. I truly feel the same way my friend. It’s shameful how these modern leaders(I refuse to call them pastors) bring reproach upon the Lord by their carnal actions.

  3. Generally I don’t learn article on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very pressured me to try and do it! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thanks, very great article.

Leave a Reply

