Psalms 96:1-13 (NASB)
96:1 Sing to the Lord a new song; Sing to the Lord, all the earth.
2 Sing to the Lord, bless His name; Proclaim good tidings of His salvation from day to day.
3 Tell of His glory among the nations, His wonderful deeds among all the peoples.
4 For great is the Lord and greatly to be praised; He is to be feared above all gods.
5 For all the gods of the peoples are idols, But the Lord made the heavens.
6 Splendor and majesty are before Him, Strength and beauty are in His sanctuary.
7 Ascribe to the Lord, O families of the peoples, Ascribe to the Lord glory and strength.
8 Ascribe to the Lord the glory of His name; Bring an offering and come into His courts.
9 Worship the Lord in holy attire; Tremble before Him, all the earth.
10 Say among the nations, “The Lord reigns; Indeed, the world is firmly established, it will not be moved; He will judge the peoples with equity.”
11 Let the heavens be glad, and let the earth rejoice; Let the sea roar, and all it contains;
12 Let the field exult, and all that is in it. Then all the trees of the forest will sing for joy
13 Before the Lord, for He is coming, For He is coming to judge the earth. He will judge the world in righteousness And the peoples in His faithfulness.

Let me start out by saying there is nothing wrong with worshiping the Lord. We are told to worship the Most High and to praise His name. I believe some church leaders in America have forgotten that worship can become an idol that is displeasing to the Lord. Why do I believe this? Because I feel way too much emphasis is put on worship without teaching the whole meaning of why we worship Jesus. The worship service can grab most of the congregation’s energy by being so focused on worship that it’s easy to view the preaching as something dull. So when does worship become sin? The answer: When worship supersedes obedience to God’s Word. We must ask ourselves, “Are we worshiping Jesus because we love Him and because we love His Word?”

A few questions that came to mind as I was pondering worship:

  • Are we truly worshiping God because of who He is?
  • Are we replacing teaching the whole council of God with a worship experience?
  • Are we worshiping God with respect?
  • Is worship the direct result of teaching the Word of God?
  • Are we being obedient to God’s requirements for Christian living as we worship Him?
  • Are we using worship as an outreach to the lost or the preaching of the Gospel?

The bottom line is that we can make anything a sin. Anything that takes our time, energy, and attention away from Jesus Christ as our first priority is an idol. Even worship can become an idol which is sin. As in all things, we must pray, study, and meditate upon the Word of God in order to grow as Christians. We must be careful not to let a worship experience overshadow the Word of God. In other words, we should not allow worldly *carnal music/actions to replace God’s standard for holy living and holy worship. Just because we can worship in ways that are powerful does not mean that what we are doing is correct. If we forsake God’s Word while worshiping, then are we truly worshiping God, or are we simply worshiping to please ourselves?

I believe that worship grows more powerful as we study God’s Word and grow in His grace. I believe that by teaching the whole council of God we prepare the body of Christ to worship and praise God in ways that are pleasing to the Lord. As we walk and grow in Christ we see just how Holy and righteous He is, and our worship will become more and more as we walk in His ways.

*I have no problem with using drums, electric guitars, etc… in a service. What I am referring to is worldly music that glories the creation rather than the creator.

Comments
  1. when child preachers such as this pop up….

    http://videogum.com/archives/cartoons/post_12_107321.html

    That is when it becomes so so awful.

  2. Thank you for the reminder, David. Lindsey sent me your link after she saw that you and I are writing from a similar perspective.

    Oh Lord, protect me from worshiping Worship!

  3. Very true. I can’t count the number of services I’ve attended where the music is even more important than worshipping, and the music goes on forever, with a very short, meaningless sermon. I will travel across the country to listen to a sermon given by a godly man, so I don’t need a rock band blaring at me in order to come to church. I need to worship with my fellow believers, even if no one plays an instrument, and to hear the Word of God preached.

    Anyway, don’t mind my ranting … good post!

  4. Moosie says:

    PLease, please do some teaching on the apostate false revival sweeping not just this country, but Europe as well. It began so many years ago as the Latter Rain. Now it totally concentrates on “worship” that is very strange. People go into trances, have out of body experiences, do really stupid things which make them seem drunk.They call it getting whacked by the Holy Spirit. Many of the leaders are Bill Johnson (Bethel Church in Redding, Ca), Rick Joyner, Todd Bentley,Sean Feucht, and many more. It’s getting weirder by the day. Unfortunately I have family that is very involved. They are very musical so got pulled in because of the extreme emphasis on music/worship/drums. Drums are especially important and they have drum circles and they are especially powerful. This “worship” goes on for hours until people are exhausted and very suseptible to all the strange things that start happening. They see angels a lot, and there are special angels who annoint them with oil and sprinkle gold dust on them. They believe that they can “impart” the power of the Holy Spirit to different ones who want to be leaders. They scream, cry, act like they are epileptics. They spin around in circles and call it doing “glory circles”. I could go on, but you probably already know about it. IHOP (International House of Prayer) seems to be mostly in charge of everything.
    Hardly anyone is speaking out about this and in the meantime, it is growing like a wild fire. In fact, they refer to the huge mtgs as doing “burns”. They claim cities and countries for Christ. The teaching is terrible and Bibles are not necessary anymore. Help.

  5. Moosie,

    Thank you for this information. I admit I know very little about this movement. I had never heard about the gold dust until I was supervising a temp crew in Dec 09. One of my workers started talking to me about how he experienced gold dust pouring from his forehead while praying. I was stunned and at first thought that he was just trying to be a comedian. To my surprise he was serious.

    I will keep you and your family in my prayers. It’s my prayer that the Holy Spirit will truly reveal Himself to your loved ones and draw them out of these false churches.

    I will look more into this movement and do some research about it. I try to take the time to read/study about the people I discuss in this blog, therefore I am slow to post about certain people/subjects because I know very little about them.

    I do know that the actions you described are not from the Holy Spirit. These actions are from another spirit known as the spirit of antichrist. It’s so easy for people to get sucked into this “signs and wonders” false gospel.

    1 John 4:1-3 (New International Version)

    1 Dear friends, do not believe every spirit, but test the spirits to see whether they are from God, because many false prophets have gone out into the world. 2 This is how you can recognize the Spirit of God: Every spirit that acknowledges that Jesus Christ has come in the flesh is from God, 3 but every spirit that does not acknowledge Jesus is not from God. This is the spirit of the antichrist, which you have heard is coming and even now is already in the world.

  6. Moosie says:

    I think I threw an awful lot at you; if you go to youtube and type in John Crowder, you’ll get the picture. It’s quite shocking, and the thing that shocks me the most is that anyone with a brain would want anything to do with these guys. Also, one other great source are Todd Bentley’s videos. We have a huge family and I actually have three sisters out of 10 siblings who have enough discernment to stay away from this stuff. Very upsetting. I watched a lot of my nieces and nephews grow up with a lot of my grandsons and I love them to pieces. I can hardly believe this is happening. Thank you for offering to pray for them. We do it every day. I think you might want to look into at least the two names I mentioned above. Amazing stuff.
    Thank you and praying for you also..

Leave a Reply

