The Lord’s Supper and a pure heart

Posted: January 7, 2010 in Christian living, Church, discernment & warnings, encouragement and advice
Tags: , , ,

1 Corinthians 11:23-34 (NASB)
11:23 For I received from the Lord that which I also delivered to you, that the Lord Jesus in the night in which He was betrayed took bread;
24 and when He had given thanks, He broke it and said, “This is My body, which is for you; do this in remembrance of Me.”
25 In the same way He took the cup also after supper, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in My blood; do this, as often as you drink it, in remembrance of Me.”
26 For as often as you eat this bread and drink the cup, you proclaim the Lord’s death until He comes.
27 Therefore whoever eats the bread or drinks the cup of the Lord in an unworthy manner, shall be guilty of the body and the blood of the Lord.
28 But a man must examine himself, and in so doing he is to eat of the bread and drink of the cup.
29 For he who eats and drinks, eats and drinks judgment to himself if he does not judge the body rightly.
30 For this reason many among you are weak and sick, and a number sleep.
31 But if we judged ourselves rightly, we would not be judged.
32 But when we are judged, we are disciplined by the Lord so that we will not be condemned along with the world.
33 So then, my brethren, when you come together to eat, wait for one another.
34 If anyone is hungry, let him eat at home, so that you will not come together for judgment. The remaining matters I will arrange when I come.

I believe that we should receive the Lord’s Supper as often as we can. I have no problem with the way many churches perform Communion. The point of this blog is not to discuss the Baptist way, the Lutheran way, or any other non-Catholic denomination’s methods of Communion. I believe this sacrament should be in practice and fully explained to all who are attending the service.

Here are a few things about Communion that should always be taught before it is offered:

  • It is for the body of Christ and not unbelievers.
  • It is an observation and remembrance of what Jesus Christ did for us.
  • We must examine ourselves before partaking and have our hearts right.
  • It is a special time in which the body of Christ reflects upon God’s grace and His salvation.

To me, Communion is a way to draw closer to Jesus Christ. It is a very personal experience for me to reflect and meditate upon the grace of God and His salvation. It is a time to worship God and honor His Word. It is a time to thank God for His salvation that He gave me even though I am deserving of Hell. It is a time that I find myself in awe of His holiness and mercy He has toward me and all humanity.

Leave a Reply

