The other day, I got a verbally abusive e-mail from a NewSpringer telling me how Perry Noble loves his church. In between all the colorful language, the standard lines were used:

  • Lives are being changed at NewSpring.
  • “God is blessing NewSpring because of the number of members.”
  • “You are a Pharisee and a hypocrite.”
  • “Pull the beam out of your eye first.” ( An attempt to justify Noble’s ungodliness using Matt 7:3 )

I came away from this message sorrowful. I too was once deceived by the leadership’s outer appearance of godliness (2 Timothy 3:1-8) and taken in by Perry Noble’s boldness to speak about controversial topics.

The really sad thing is many who attend NewSpring will never know the true nature of a pastor (1 Timothy 3:1-7, 1 Corinthians 13:1-13) . I know it would be impossible for Perry Noble to meet with every member who has a need, but he could explain the reasons to his people instead of bashing them over the head. How hard would it be to say, “I know that many of you have needs. Please understand that I am one man and I cannot be in more that one place at a time. I will try my best to meet with you and talk with you. If I cannot meet with you personally, then we have people in our ministry who will help you. Please understand with a church this large, I must prioritize my time and weigh out who needs me the most.” What I just typed is how a shepherd would respond to his sheep.

No time for you!

Noble has the time to drive 2 hours for lunch.

John 10:12-13 (NASB)
12 “He who is a hired hand, and not a shepherd, who is not the owner of the sheep, sees the wolf coming, and leaves the sheep and flees, and the wolf snatches them and scatters them.
13 He flees because he is a hired hand and is not concerned about the sheep.

Comments
  1. I’m shocked! I would have loved to have been there just to watch and see if anyone got up and left in disgust. Then again in a church as large as you say this one is, I’d wonder if anyone would have noticed.

  2. Rick Shuffler says:

    I attend Newspring, and I have some honest questions for you. I have seen Perry preach, and in my opinion he tells us all the time that it is about Jesus and people meeting Him, not about Perry. I go away from the church thinking about my life and how I can improve myself and my witness to others. I am saved by the blood of Jesus, by the way, and I am going to Heaven because I repented of my sin and asked Jesus to come into my heart. I am new to your site through youtube, and I feel like you honestly love Jesus. Have you ever considered sitting down with Perry and if you feel like he is leading people astray, telling him so in love. We are called to correct in love, first in private, then in front of a group, and then if they are unrepentant, to part ways with them. I love all my Christian brothers and sisters, and I feel so conflicted when I see things like this. I don’t blindly follow anyone, and I use my Bible as a measuring rod. I have enjoyed Perry’s teachings, and even though you may not agree with it, I feel it is Biblically sound. This reply is in no way to attack anyone, or use a “canned defense”, but just a heartfelt request for you to answer some questions I have. God bless you and your ministry, and keep fighting the good fight. Thank you for your time and attention. Much love from a brother in Christ, my Lord and Saviour.

  3. Rick,

    Thank you for your comments my brother.

    I tried to talk to Perry Noble many times. When I was a very active member of NewSpring Church, I requested meetings with Perry Noble only to be intercepted by the campus pastor. Please read Message to my NewSpring Church friends who have stopped talking to me and “So when did you stop worshiping Jesus and start attacking God’s work at NewSpring?

    I would like for you to listen to this Perry Noble Exegetes the Book of Maps Perry Noble twist and distorts the Scriptures to support what he is teaching.

    I know how hard it is to look at NewSpring outside of a Christ centered church. I fully understand how easy it is to be taken back by the good works and how it seems that God is moving because of the massive numbers. I too was in the same situation was I was a member of NewSpring Church. I tried and tried to meet with Noble hoping that he would repent and obey the Holy Scriptures. The sad truth is that “if” you question Noble, you will be the wrath of NewSpring Church down upon you.

    Please read Perry Noble: The pot calling the kettle black and follow the links at the end of that blog.

    I know this is a lot of reading. I plea with you to read what I had written and listen to Chris Rosebrough’s radio show links I added to the reply.

    Again, thank you for your kind reply and sincere questions.

    Discernment is telling the difference between right and almost right.

    In Christ,

    David J Horn

  4. John kelly says:

    wow everything the pastor said was so true and all of your verses were taken out of context… thanks for making me like Newspring even more…

  5. John,

    Instead of making a blanket accusation, what about explaining how those verses were taken out of context. Show me in context how the verses I used are twisted out of context.

    If you want a good example of Scripture twisting then please visit Perry Noble Exegetes the Book of Maps. I’m not trying to be difficult, my problem is not with the people who attend NewSpring Church.

  6. Jennifer says:

    One more question. I don’t care if you do not post this but please answer me… Are you a believer in Jesus Christ? Have you prayed about what you are doing to this man? If so how much do you know about the Bible as translated in the true Hebrew and Greek versions? I have yet to find any quote from the bible he was incorrect about. I can tell you I did a ?( survey) on face book (please keep in mind I do not attend Newspring currently I live in Myrtle Beach so most of my current friends are NOT in Anderson) the question was How many people can you claim have come to Christ because of Perry Noble. The response was overwhelming and more than I can imagine. If I friended as many people in your town and asked the same question what would the response be? Please pray before you slam this man again. He is bringing people to the kingdom of GOD Bottom lime.

  7. Pamela says:

    “Bottom lime” or “bottom slime” ? … just wonderin’. Perry’s not bringing people to Christ… he’s on a different, wider road altogether. Nothing has changed (for the better anyhow) in a year…

  8. HD says:

    A pastor getting hungry?!?!?!? A pastor posting a joking tweet about his hunger on twitter?!?!?!? He must be a false teacher!!!

    I’m getting off this website now, this is beyond ridiculous. I hope you’re as passionate about Christ as you are about distorting and misrepresenting minor events of life.

  9. HD,

    Keep drinking that kool-aid from the sour spring called NewSpring Church. Unlike Jim Jones whose poison was lethal with one dose, Noble’s kool-aid is laced with a small amount of rat poison that slowly kills you over time. He feeds on your carnal nature while telling you that it’s ok as long as you worship Jesus(the only thing he speaks hard against is sexual immorality in which I 100% agree with him.)

    It’s evident from your other drive by post to my blog that you are not interested in the truth. I’m sure you will not bother to post what distortions and misrepresentations you accused my of doing, but feel free to try.

    Unlike some who blog about Noble, I use my real name. I was a member of that church. I did try to take my concerns to Noble and at one time I drunk the kool-aid from the tainted water of NewSpring Church.

    By the way, Noble does drive to GA to eat while on church time.

  10. AaronJNelson says:

    I love what Perry Noble is doing! Each and every one of his sermons that I’ve watched (around 20 by now) minus the “No perfect people allowed” one above have challenged my life immensely and enhanced my walk with Christ. They are surely changing many lives. Look at the history of the church.

    Perry is rough around the edges. He loves to bring his personality out while he speaks. Yes, he has gone too far a few times. But take a look at the shirt he’s wearing. No pastor is perfect (especially the “you suck at life” thing), but the great thing about Perry is that he knows it and admits it. He’s an honest man up front and is willing to be an open book (something you can’t say for all preachers). His style is different and effective. His church is loving and accepting. When I visited a few weeks ago, it was the most comfortable I had ever been attending a church for the first time. There is so much that other churches can learn from Newspring.

    Concerning some of the rules: I don’t really like them, but I understand them. They were made by a whole group of leaders, not just Perry, so who’s to blame?

    Perry understands that there is no “super pastor” and he cannot meet with everyone or care for everyone. That’s realistic. I’m sure it’s protocol to meet with the campus pastor or another church leader it there are major issues. In Acts the 12 apostles chose 7 men to settle the disputes concerning the distribution of food so that they could “give their attention to prayer and the ministry of the word.” Sound familiar 😉

    I haven’t come across anything that would make my call him a “false teacher” or to deter me from listening to him and enjoying what Newspring is doing.

  11. AaronJNelson,

    I really feel sorry for you that you have literally $bought$ into Noble’s web of deception. It’s telling that Noble can drive to Atlanta to stuff his gut(mind you while at work at New$pring), BUT he cannot take the time to come see YOU if you are in dire need of a your pastor. If nothing else, this should throw up a red flag because it’s clear Noble is interested only in what he wants to do.

    As far as his false teachings and scripture twisting, I have various blogs proving that Noble is a false teacher.

    The old “No Perfect People” slogan does not cover up the filth and stink coming from New$pring’s sour water.

Leave a Reply

