“While researching some data about the megachurch phenomenon, I found the following blog. As you read The Problem with Megachurches, I really want you to think about the authors insights and conclusions. What BoyintheMachine wrote should be enough to make any megachurch pastor weep and seek repentance. This blog should motivate us to pray for those who are deceived by these false teachers, and ask God to raise up people who will preach the truth (2 Timothy 4:1-5).” David J Horn

The Problem with Megachurches

First of all, I have to be honest. I’ve never been a member of a Megachurch, however I have attended worship at several of them when I was a believer. My opinion: I’m against them. I view Megachurches as a sign of the actual transformation of Christianity into being more secular in nature. Why? I will list some of my views below.

1.) Megachurches preach a watered-down version of Christianity and stay clear of topics that are deemed controversial, meaning the topics or biblical teachings that Christians are divided on. Because megachurches are focused on unity, they simply avoid teaching many parts of the bible.)

2.) Megachurches focus on saving souls and not on proper Christian instruction. (The whole factory-made Christian and Sinner’s prayer that I detest.)

3.) Megachurches promote a ‘feel good’ version of Christianity, where being a good Christian is defined as personal emotions and feeling, as in “as long as you feel okay then you are right with God”. Even the sermons tend to focus more on only positive ‘feel good’ things (see #1).

4.) Megachurches are too worldly (This year, 2010, one Megachurch in Corpus Christi had a contest for a chance to win a share of a million dollars (total in gifts/prizes). Being present on Easter service ensured worshippers a chance to win prizes. Many other Megachurches give material possessions, including cars, in similar gimmicks to attract new members.)

One megachurch celebrates Easter with a Million Dollar Giveaway

FYI: This practice disgusts me.

5.) Megachurches are run like corporations. This is no joke and people need to realize this. Therefore I will repeat it one more time.

MEGACHURCHES ARE RUN LIKE CORPORATIONS.

Do you understand this? Most Megachurches have multiple pastors. The head pastor or senior pastor is like the CEO.

6.) Megachurches place too much value on entertainment. It’s a church, not a circus.

7.) Megachurchers are impersonal. Many megachurches attempt to make up for the sheer size of their body by holding smaller classes and groups, however this is an example of the band-aid solution. It doesn’t work. The problem of impersonality still remains. (See #8 below)

8.) Anonymity – How can you be properly brought up in the Christian faith when your pastor(s) and teachers don’t even know your name?

9.) Scandal – Most of the scandalous pastors and Christians have come from Megachurches.

10) Selling in the Church – Most Megachurches today sell in the Church. They will lie to their members and claim it is okay. They will give any number of excuses, mostly that it’s okay to do it in the lobby but not in the worship center or that as long as the merchandise is Christian-themed it is okay to do it. Some even sell in the parking lots, convincing themselves that it’s okay to do it there. The Megachurches that completely disgust me have actual giftshops. Is it okay to buy and sell in the Church? -NO. It’s not okay to buy or sell anything in the Church, including all of the Church property. If this behavior doesn’t stop then it’s only a matter of time before we will have “the golden arches” inside the Megachurches.

See folks, this is what I mean when I say the majority of Christians are going to hell and they don’t even know it. (And I say this as an atheist. I know that as an atheist if the word of God is true, then I’m going to hell. However, I also know that if the word of God is true then these folks are following right after me.)

So there you have it. My opinions on the megachurches.

Posted by BoyintheMachine at 10:31 PM(source)
Comments
  1. All this makes me wonder if the most righteous response to stuff like this would be to run through the room overturning tables as Christ did in the temple.
    I’ve never been to one of these mega churches either and I don’t know as if I’d like to go. I’ve been to churches large enough where the pastor didn’t know my name and didn’t seem to care to learn my name.
    Have you ever read the book: “Selling Jesus” by Douglas Webster?

  2. […] "While researching some data about the megachurch phenomenon, I found the following blog. As you read The Problem with Megachurches, I really want you to think about the authors insights and conclusions. What BoyintheMachine wrote should be enough to make any megachurch pastor weep and seek repentance. This blog should motivate us to pray for those who are deceived by these false teachers, and ask God to raise up people who will preach the truth … Read More […]

  3. Todd,

    I’ll add that book to my to read list.

    Thanks,

    David J

  4. […] June 13, 2010 by Reformed Joe "While researching some data about the megachurch phenomenon, I found the following blog. As you read The Problem with Megachurches, I really want you to think about the authors insights and conclusions. What BoyintheMachine wrote should be enough to make any megachurch pastor weep and seek repentance. This blog should motivate us to pray for those who are deceived by these false teachers, and ask God to raise up people who will preach the truth … Read More […]

  5. Joel says:

    Hi there, we’ve got a discussion starting to erupt on Bible Reflections about Mega Churches. Would anyone like to join in?

    Here’s the link:

    http://www.bible-reflections.net/news/when-does-a-pastor-tainted-by-scandal-deserve-forgiveness/1010/

  6. Patrick says:

    so does the Catholic church falls in “mega” church category?

    It doesn’t do whatever that is stated, but the size of Catholics are definitely in the “mega” range.

Leave a Reply

