I was going to preach this Sunday about (fill in the blank), but God has laid it…

Posted: September 16, 2011 in Christian living, Church, encouragement and advice
Tags: , , , ,

“I heard many pastors express some what similar abilities. They do so in a very subtle, but authoritative manner. For example, they may say something like – I was going to preach this Sunday about (fill in the blank), but God has laid it on my heart to preach about (fill in the blank). It seems that God has personally revealed to them to change the subject of their sermon the last minute.” Well, how do they know it was God? Joe (source)

I thought this would be a good subject to talk about. Joe brought up a good point.

Here is my reply to Joe:

Joe,

Interesting question I have wondered myself over the years. I personally think some pastors add ” I was going to preach this Sunday about (fill in the blank), but God has laid it on my heart to preach about (fill in the blank)” as part of the show to create drama and interest. I’m not saying that all do this, nor I”m I saying that God cannot lead a man to change his sermon. I believe the Spirit does lead those who are mindful to His will and calling, therefore I believe that some preachers are truly lead to change their sermons at the last moment. The key is being mindful to the Holy Spirit and willing to follow His leading.

It’s one thing to feel lead to change subjects on Sunday/Wed preaching, but a totally different thing to become the direct link to God like Driscoll did.

Feel free to add you thoughts…

Comments
  1. 2Pc. says:

    David Joseph Horn,

    My church’s former pastor did this many times, and it never set right. I feel that this changing-the-sermon thing is worse than proclaiming a “word of knowledge” because if you spent, I don’t know, X amount of hours preparing a sermon that (I’d hope) you’re ready to exegete/exposit, and then, suddenly on Sunday morning, God switches gears on you? I mean, c’mon… Doesn’t it make God look unsure of what He wants to say? Or borderline capricious?

  2. 2Pc,

    I would not say that it makes God look unsure. If the Spirit truly leads a man to change his sermon, then I say as long as it’s Spirit lead then it’s a blessing. Again, this whole issue rest upon 1.)the pastor being open to the leading of the Holy Spirit 2.) The Holy Spirit leading. I would think this is something that would happen rarely and not every other Sunday 🙂

  3. Jeff W says:

    I am curious about your last sentence “but a totally different thing to become the direct link to God like Driscoll did.”

    What exactly are you referring to? I am not trying to stir anything up, I am legitimately wondering.

  4. Jeff,

    Here is what I was referring to:

    Mark_visions

  5. Ryan says:

    Perhaps, God did lay it on the Pastor’s heart to change his sermon….

    WHY did the Pastor share this “fact”?

    Should not ALL sermons be laid upon the Pastors heart as all should be proclaiming God’s Word?

    Think about it.

Leave a Reply

